Wife’d up

Even before we got engaged, we knew we didn’t want a wedding (more on that in another post). BUT, I did know that I wanted a little ceremony basically for the sake of having photos. When we got engaged, I kind of forgot about the getting married part. Until one day I randomly decided, what the heck, let’s plan this thing.

First of all, if this little 6 person thing is stressful for me, I cannot imagine planning a legitimate hundred person shindig. I mean holy crap. Trying to coordinate a hotel and location for vows and restaurant was enough to make me want to throw the ring away and forget I was ever engaged. But it worked out.

So one day I was sitting in my rocking chair, nursing Gav to sleep, and decided to get married. I texted Darwin and asked if he was free this weekend. Yes. Great. I texted the photographer. Nope, booked for a couple weeks. I literally chose the date, December 4th, based on our photographer, Sophia’s availability.  When I had messaged her in early November, her next available Sunday was 12/4. Done. I had three weeks to find a hotel, officiant, photographer, and restaurant for our “reception.” There was also the additional task of getting rings, outfits, and the marriage license. Three weeks was definitely enough time but holy crap, I kept imagining if I was planning a real wedding – choosing a reception menu, playlist, bridesmaids crap, blah, blah, more crap, blah…sounds terrible.

We knew we wanted to get married in the inner harbor, so we just chose a hotel that was on the waterfront. Done. I did a lil yelp search for a restaurant and found a couple places within walking distance of the hotel. I let Darwin choose from that. Done. Restaurant selected. I looked on Thumbtack for an officiant and was impressed by Marjorie’s price and ability to speak Spanish. I knew I wanted to surprise Darwin with some Spanish in my vows, but since Marjorie was bilingual, I asked her to make her whole schpeal duo-lingo as well. Done. PS Marjorie was fantastic. I always say that I will definitely be calling her for my second wedding. HEHE.

On to the marriage license – that’s one thing I had no idea about – you have to get the marriage license in advance. The hell? When the officiant emailed me telling me I had to go to the Baltimore courthouse at least 2 days prior to the big day, I called my mom in a panic, asking if the day we get the license will be our actual marriage anniversary. I was incorrect. Brick explained that they make you wait a couple of days after getting the license to curb the number of spontaneous, irresponsible marriages. Makes sense. Marriage license obtained.

RaiDarwinWedding-47We got our rings the week before the big day Kohls and Kay Jewlers for a hefty price of $200 total. Done! Last, an outfit for me. I knew I didn’t want to wear a white dress. I toyed with the idea of a white jumpsuit but when I found a low cut black wideleg jumpsuit online I was sold. I found some little black flats, borrowed earrings from my Grandma Patty’s jewelry collection, and I was done! Darwin wore his brother’s rosary (old), Gavin was there (new), grandma’s earrings (borrowed) and I wore Brick’s sapphire bracelet (blue). Done done done!

The actual wedding was better and more chill than planning it. We lazed around the house that morning and mosie’d to the hotel right around noon, with two hours to spare until the officiant arrived for the ceremony. We had some champagne with Darwin’s brother and waited for my mom and my sister to come doll me up. Joy called me in a panic around 1p.

raidarwinwedding-81.jpg

She had made it from Laurel to the airport exit when she realized she left all her clothes at home. I had tasked her with bringing her curling iron but didn’t tell her I was bringing my own just in case. So even though she and the hair stuff were late as f, I didn’t mind.

We weren’t ready until about 2:15 but it really didn’t matter because the entire production only included eight people total, and none of them minded. Joy arrived, Brick did my makeup, we took some pics, and headed down to the harbor. I was so happy to get a photo of Darwin’s “first look” at me all dolled up. I was concerned I wouldn’t get that, not having a “walk down the aisle” type ceremony. But he waited outside the hotel for us to come down and it worked out.

RaiDarwinWedding-90

We took a three minute walk to a gorgeous spot on the water, with a large dock-area backed by the cobblestone streets of Fell’s Point. I couldn’t have chosen a better location. The best part was, no one was there! We had the whole dock to ourselves. The weather was overcast which makes for amazing lighting and no one squinting. We had a quickie ceremony, short and sweet. We took photos and by the time we were done, Gavin was asleep in Joy’s arms. She packed him up to go home, and Darwin, Brick, Oswaldo and I headed to our lunch “reception” location.

We ate delicious shrimp and steak at Ruth’s Chris. Do you know how delicious Ruth’s Chris is 1. accompanied by wine and 2. knowing your high maintenance baby is off somewhere being high maintenance for someone else? How magical. I 100% took child-free meals for granted pre-baby. I’ll never forgive myself. Anyway, we ate and drank and then Darwin and I went back to the hotel for a little mini honeymoon. We were married. Our wedding day was over, and it was flippin perfect. 

It’s worth mentioning that Darwin proposed on Beyonce’s birthday (unbeknownst to him) and we got married on Jay-Z’s birthday (I found out after we booked the photographer) so that’s either a fantastic omen or a really bad one, depending on which Beyonce album you’re listing to. 

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑